top of page
  • Writer's picturePTRO

Palatine Township Holds Caucus for 2021 Township Elections

Updated: Jun 30, 2021

Republicans in Palatine Township came together to caucus Tuesday night at Cotillion Banquets in Palatine. The Caucus was held to elect eight individuals to run for the board of Palatine Township, for the April 6 Consolidated Election. Caucuses were given an exemption from the current Restriction Orders by Governor Pritzker, provided proper social distancing/masking protocols were followed.

The caucus brought together 116 Republicans electing the slate, Republicans United For The Taxpayer. The slate includes Andy-John Kalkounos for Supervisor, Aaron Del Mar for Highway Commissioner, Terry Kelly for Assessor, Lisa Moran for Clerk, and four Trustees in Bill Pohlman, Christine Svenson, Leslie Bolanos and Michael Smolka. Kalkounos, Del Mar, Kelly, Moran and Pohlman are currently serving on the board. The new slate, if elected, has pledged to freeze taxes during their term of office. Their three-point pledge also includes continuing to serve the needs of all residents through the outstanding outreach programs and services the Township is known for, as well as acting professionally and respectfully in all Township matters and meetings.

In addition to their involvement with the Township, the entire slate has been actively involved in the community. Kalkounos has served on the Harper College Foundation Board and Meet Chicago Northwest Convention & Visitors Bureau. Del Mar served on the Palatine Village Council from 2009 until 2012 and was honored by Crain's Chicago Magazine as a Notable Entrepreneur for his work with his company Adrenaline Special Events. Moran served 11 years as a board member of local military non-profit SALUTE, INC. and is an active parishioner at St. Theresa Church in Palatine. Kelly is a lifelong resident of Palatine Township with extensive management experience in local government, and providing popular tax appeal seminars to residents.

The four Trustee candidates also have extensive involvement in their community. Current Trustee Pohlman has been a member of the Jaycees, American Legion, Rotary and has volunteered for numerous other local organizations. Svenson serves on the board of Journeys the Road Home as well as volunteers at Willow Creek Care Center and Northwest Compass. Bolanos has served on the board of the D211 Chiefs Hockey Club and chaired the annual Gala for Holy Family Catholic Academy in 2010. Smolka serves on the board of the Palatine Community Baseball and Softball and coaches children throughout Palatine as part of their training and development program.

For further information on the Republicans United For The Taxpayer, check them out on Facebook or email them at

75 views0 comments


bottom of page